2011 goals

Writing one’s goals publicly to give yourself a reminder/humiliation seems to be quite the in-thing for 2011. At least amongst climbers. So I thought I’d give myself a bit of a list, something to check up on later this year and see how I’m progressing. Some of these I can definitely do, but some are a bit more ambitious and might not happen.

Climbing

I’d like to fulfil the long-standing goal of climbing F7a again, and onsighting F6c. Probably one of the routes at Portland. This is definitely do-able. More unlikely is climbing F7a+.

Trad climbing – I’d like to get up to E2 and possibly E3. Something steep and safe at Pembroke or Gogarth. Pleasure Dome is on the list, maybe also Ocean Boulevard or Soul Survivor at Swanage. Some steep and savage grit cracks, with the ultimate aim of doing Sentinal Crack at Chatsworth – ouch!

Places to visit: Cornwall, Verdon, North Wales. Spend much more time at Swanage and Portland to get fit.

Writing

Actually write a short story.

Try to write a radio play.

Get at least one article published in the national media.

I think that’s enough for now, I’m getting tired just thinking about all that lot!

Leave a comment